Public Engagement Awards

The SEPnet Public Engagement Awards 2020 will not go ahead in person due to COVID-19. The awards will be held virtually in March 2021.

Nominations will open in late 2020. Applicants may self nominate for awards, or be nominated by someone else. Full information on awards categories and eligibility criteria can be found here.

Previous Winners


Innovation Project Award
Winner – Tactile Universe, Portsmouth
Highly Commended:
Stargazing +, Oxford
Walk-In Quantum Computer Installation, Sussex

Impact Project Award
Winner – Research In Schools, QMUL

Communication Award
Winner – Dr Guillem Anglada-Escudé, QMUL
Highly Commended:
Dr Suzie Sheehy, Oxford
Prof Winfried Hensinger, Sussex

Newcomer Award
Winner – Emma Osborne, Southampton
Highly Commended:
Lucy Newnham, Portsmouth
Dr Michelle Collins, Surrey
Sophie Bashforth, RHUL

Achievement Award
Winner – Dr Karen Masters, Portsmouth
Highly Commended:
Suzie Sheehy, Oxford

Research Group Award
Winner – Centre for Particle Physics, RHUL
Highly Commended:
Optical Engineering & Quantum Photonics Group, Southampton


Newcomer Award
Winner: Dr Jillian Scudder, University of Sussex
Highly Commended: Dr Mafalda Dias, University of Sussex
Highly Commended: Michael Tarr, University of Portsmouth

Communications Award
Winner: Prof Monica Grady, The Open University
Highly Commended: Dr Karen Masters, University of Portsmouth

Achievement Award
Winner: Prof David Berman, Queen Mary, University of London
Highly Commended: Prof Andrew Norton, The Open University

Innovation Project Award
Winner: Reflecting Photonics RHS Tatton Park Show Garden
Project Lead – Pearl John, University of Southampton